How to quit smoking!

I was really worried about letting my readers know that I used to be a smoker. I kind of felt like ‘ahhh if they know I used to smoke they might not want to follow me’ but then I decided no I will post about it because it’s about me. My blog is about me and I’m not perfect and I will share with you the good and the bad!

I hope, however, that this post might be useful to some of you out there who are looking to quit smoking and have maybe tried a few different ways and keep failing.

Smoking is an addiction and one that is extremely hard to break. I started smoking around the age of 16. I fancied a boy at college who smoked and to impress him I started smoking. It was as simple as that, I wanted to look cool and grown up and thought that smoking did that to me. What a stupid girl I was. If I could go back I would punch my 16 year old self in the face and shake her until her eyes popped out!!! 

Alas, I cannot and so getting back to my life I ended up spending the next 9 years as a smoker. The last five years I smoked however, were years of me trying to quit and basically it not working. I have tried every single method of quitting smoking there is out there. I’ve tried the gum, the patches, the lozenges, the inhaler, a fake cigarette and even tablets prescribed by a Dr!!! Honestly you name it I’ve tried it. 

Each time I’d begin something, the first few days I would be like ‘yeah this is awesome!’ ‘I’m so going to quit this time’! Then three days later I would just be like ‘oh one cigarette can’t hurt’ then I would say ‘actually I need to cut down first before I quit’ and each time I would be back smoking all day every day. It was a vicious cycle because I hated myself so much for smoking yet I was so addicted that even though I hated it I couldn’t stop!

I can tell you though that you will get there! Even if you spend every other day trying to quit then good for you and pat yourself on the back because fair play it’s hard!

I have now quit smoking! Wahoo I can finally say that I am a nonsmoker and this makes me smile a lot! You are probably wondering how I quit and whether there is some magical miracle that makes you want to stop?

The good news is you can quit and there are products out there that will help. The bad news is that it is pure willpower that will make you quit for good! After trying all of the products I listed above half heartedly it wasn’t until last year when I began to get serious chest pains every now and again that I decided enough was enough. I hated the way I smelt, I hated the colour of my teeth, I hated spending so much money on tobacco but most of all I hated the way smoking controlled my life. I couldn’t start my day without having a cigarette. I would have to have one after every meal and before bed. I would stand outside in the worst of weathers to get my fix of nicotine and it was embarrassing.

So in January 2017 I decided to give up. I’d had enough! I went to my local supermarket and got some of the smoking patches to help me through and got rid of all of my tobacco and lighters etc. I spent a week using the patches and after that I didn’t notice the difference when I stopped wearing them. It isn’t a miracle that has happened to me it is purely willpower and drive. I don’t want to be a smoker and I will do everything in my power to not touch a cigarette ever again!

Here are some tips that helped me;

  • Keep busy.
  • Change your routine.
  • Suck a boiled sweet when you’re having cravings.
  • Exercise more.
  • Don’t surround yourself with smokers.
  • Don’t put yourself in places where there will be smokers.
  • Read the benefits of quiting smoking.
  • Take up a hobbie.
  • Put away all of the money you would spend on cigarettes and treat yourself to something nice each month.
  • Believe in yourself!

That last bullet point might sound cheesy but it’s true, you need to believe in yourself that you can do it! Self belief is so powerful.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and if you have any questions then let me know in the comments below! 

Lots of love 

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

